Beauty Sweep: Postcard from Athens

I’ve long been a fan of the Korres label. My crush on the Greek cosmetic brand started with their minimalist aesthetic and eye-catching designs–and continued when I got a hold of their mascara and accidentally bought the blue instead of the black. Surprisingly, the blue didn’t channel my younger Crayloa-as-makeup days and created instead a discreet and pleasant blue tint that’s only subtly detected in the light. I also have this awful and unfounded fear that all my lashes will fall out if I use too much mascara–something that my grandma was sure to instill in me in my early makeup wearing days. So this formula has been working well for me: it has conditioning (and natural!) ingredients that make me feel like I am doing good for my lashes (a rarity), and it doubles as a discreet pigment I can wear to the gym while still looking pretty natural (but definitely a few notches more put together). Then I suckered my friend into buying the lip butter (whoever designs those things needs a serious raise), and slowly began to manically accumulate all Korres everything. I then stopped by their chic boutique in the Athens airport last summer, which made for some good lat-minute souvenirs and an even better use of my last Euros (fine, I also bought some other things. It’s not ethical to have artisan bakeries IN an airport). So, not surprisingly, the Olympus gods must have heard my constant raving (or seen the amount of times I’ve visited their site) and sent me an amazing goody bag of  loot; thanks for maintaining my addiction, Korres. This surely must be among the healthier ones..

Love their interactive videos–which feature the owners and creative individuals behind the brand.

The perfect blend of sheer and colour-rich, and so perfect for summer: Pomegranate lip butter

Definitely my favourite mascara so far: doesn’t do the whole chunky act, no matter how many layers you lay on.

Leave a Reply

